Tongue-Twisters

Tongue-Twisters
Wanting to research a fun poetry style, I quickly went onto this site, and selected tongue-twister.
Already knowing quite a bit about tongue-twisters, but still wanting another person’s intake on the poetry style, I went to Wikipidea and had a quick read.
Apparently, a tongue-twister is a phrase that is designed to be difficult to say out loud properly, where mispronouncing or stuttering at certain words are quite common to hear.

They are usually used as word games, better known for their humorous outcomes, which many find amusing.

There are many types of tongue twisters, which surprised me, because I thought it was simply a hard-to-say phrase, nothing more. There are types of tongue-twisters that may rely on rapid alternation between similar but distinct phonemes, types that use a combination of alliteration and rhyme, and even kinds where the form of words or short phrases are repeated rapidly, thus making your tongue twist and turn, reaching for the correct pronunciation yet uttering something else completely.
I’m not going to lie, I spent most of my ‘research time’, looking up different examples of tongue-twisters, and trying them out myself. It’s amazing how many fun phrases are out there.
This website was full of many interesting phrases! I highly recommend you go check it out… but I warn you… you WILL be distracted for quite some time. I suggest you prioritize before going on this link. You will lose at least an hour of your precious time.
I have to admit though, reading a few of the more common tongue-twisters brought back a nostalgic feeling. I remember trying to do “she sells sea-shells” with my friend at recess instead of playing on the playground like “normal” kids.
I know what you’re thinking though, how can tongue-twisters be a poetic style? Quite simply; poetry comes in many styles, as long as you frame it as such.
Here’s a good example of a tongue-twister poem called “Mr Knott and Mr Watt on the Phone”
Hello?
Who’s calling?
Watt.
What’s your name?
Watt’s my name.
Yes, what is your name?
My name is John Watt.
John what?
Yes.
… I’ll call on you this afternoon.
All right, are you Jones?
No, I’m Knott.
Will you tell me your name, then?
Will Knott.
Why not?
My name is Knott.
Not what?
Not Watt. Knott.
What?
We know that this was a tongue-twister, but because I called it a poem, I labelled it as such that you looked to it as a poem. Cool eh?
After reading all these tongue-twisters, I have a strange urge to write a few of my own. I’m glad I chose this instead of a Haiku.

Leave a Reply

