Static Language Sampler

While doing this assignment, I came across a system in the Language Removal Services website labeled “Static Language Sampler”. Unsure what the sampler did, I decided to listen to Marilyn Monroe’s audio. This piece was kind of awkward to listen to, because it just sounded like a woman moaning and taking in deep breaths… So of course I’m going to post the link for you guys to listen to with me. Here ya go ;D

I assume that the static language sampler only detects the sound of static. Its sounds as though they took clips of interviews or audio recordings of Marilyn talking, and only documented the very beginning or ending of her speech, where the most ‘static’ would occur.

This piece intrigued me in the sense that static was not the only thing I heard. The title of this program led me to believe that I would hear nothing but static, but Marilyn Monroe’s voice did not go unheard. At first, there was indeed nothing but ‘static’, but throughout the duration of the audio, her voice did escape quite a few times.

This discovery made me think about the way we talk. Do we vocalize as we inhale? Or do we just inhale so fast that by the time we’re talking, the intake (or static noise) we’ve created goes unheard- making it sound like we’ve begun talking instantly?

This audio actually made me think about punctuation. I tend to write more with comma’s then periods, resulting is a lot of ‘inhalation’. Marilyn Monroe has subconsciously helped me shorten my sentences to help it flow better.

It’s a shame you wont see these sentence structure improvements any time soon.

Leave a Reply

